The 2012 Co-operative Leadership Awards

The 2012 Co-operative Leader of the Year Award (Legacy) and 2012 Future Leaders Award (Youth) were presented on 25 October at the National Co-operatives Conference by Australia’s favourite ‘celeb chef’ and great co-operator – Maggie Beer. Meet the winners

2012 is the United Nations International Year of Co-operatives. It’s a once in a lifetime opportunity for Australian co-operative businesses to come together and celebrate their success.

This International Year of Co‐operatives is about raising awareness of the important role of co-operatives and mutuals in many sectors of the Australian economy. The time is also right to acknowledge the importance of leadership to the success of our businesses.

The 2012 Co-operative Leadership Awards have been created to mark this special year.

Read the 2012 Co-operative Leadership Awards Launch media release

The search is on...

Help us find our outstanding leaders. The 2012 Co-operative Leadership Awards recognises the work of outstanding Australian co-operators. The two Award categories are:

The 2012 Co-operative Leadership Awards

Two easy steps to nominating a leader

  1. Please read the Selection Criteria before nominating
  2. Nominate on or before 10 September 2012

Important dates




Peter Russell-Clarke
Iconic TV chef and co-ops champion, Peter Russell-Clarke
"...because a lot of profit made from human effort is vanishing out of the local community where it is generated, we are becoming acutely aware that we need to join hands and protect each other by striving together to the benefit of our neighbours as well as our own family. We need to co-operate with each other - Bravo the co-operatives amongst you."

Facebook    Twitter

The IYC 2012 Secretariat is proudly supported by Social Business Australia and Capricorn Society Ltd

SBA logo                     Capricorn logo                          Capricorn logo

IYC 2012 logo